Important update on working schedule of our hotels. Read More
hidden

Landscape portrait

  • 27.04.2020

The collection of paintings at Kyiv’s Premier Palace Hotel offers both famous works by the renowned classic Glushchenko and paintings by those whose name is lost in history. But for most guests who come to Kyiv for business or travel, these paintings remain a background element of the interior. Premier Hotels and Resorts restores justice and tells the stories of only a few from around three hundred paintings.


Mykola Glushchenko, The Beginning of Spring

The most expensive one

The fate of the artist Mykola Glushchenko, who worked as a Soviet agent in Berlin simultaneously with his artistic activity, is no less interesting than his canvases. Thanks to the profession, Glushchenko did not become a hostage to official Soviet art — the authorities closed their eyes to the fact that his paintings were atypical for that day. Glushchenko has been searching for his “national style” all his life, and in the works of different periods, one can see intricate transformations of color, shapes, and composition. The Beginning of Spring, despite its small size, is the most valuable work of many at the Premier Palace Hotel.


Matviy Kogan-Shatz, During the Sunset, 1952

One that is easy to miss

This painting is located in the narrow passageway of Premier Palace Hotel, so it is very easy to miss on the way to the pool or cigar room. And that’s a pity. Because this painting is everything that the critics loved at the time and the Soviet nomenclature hated. Sunset is a classic, balanced landscape by Kogan-Shatz with sophisticated yet striking color and expressive composition, far from the industrial and domestic problems of its times.


Danilo Bezugliy, Volga-Don Gateway, 1953

The strangest one

At first glance, most of Danilo Bezugly’s works seem out of date today — the industrialization and “great construction” themes are found in any list of his major works. But his ability to combine everyday themes with the imaginative methods of European Orientalists is noteworthy. In this painting, placed in the Terracotta restaurant, the river gateway of the Volgo-Don appears in an almost antique mood. The artist’s inspiration during his numerous travels is especially felt here.


Malva, an unknown artist

Unknown to this day

The walls of the hotel exhibit almost 300 paintings, most of which belong to a brush of prominent Ukrainian artists: from Mykola Glushchenko to Viktor Dobrazhnsky. However, the fate (and authorship) of several works is still unknown. One of these is the Malva, located in the corridor of the old building on the 7th floor. Against the backdrop of other representatives of academic painting, this work is notable for its appeal to the principles of naiveism with its intense colors, but with classic shapes.


Ivan Kisil, Vineyards in Ukraine

Document of the era

What if you combine the painting of social realism with the impressionistic methods? In Ivan Kysil’s Vineyards, we see the result. On the one hand, typical Ukrainian women workers in aprons and scarves. On the other one, an intense color of grapes, which occupies most of the composition. And a constant optimism of easel Soviet paintings. For the contemporary connoisseur, though, the works of Ivan Kisil may seem even too conflict-free.

Covid-19: сетевые стандарты чистоты и безопасности. Подробнее
hidden

Портрет пейзажа

  • 27.04.2020

В собрании живописи киевского отеля Premiere Palace Hotel можно найти и известные работы признанного классика Глущенко, и картины тех, чье имя утеряно в истории. И для большинства гостей эти картины остаются фоновым элементом интерьера. Сеть отелей Premier исправляет эту несправедливость и рассказывает лишь о нескольких картинах из трех сотен.


Николай Глущенко, «Начало весны»

Cамая дорогая

Изучать судьбу художника Николая Глущенко, который параллельно со своей художественной деятельностью работал советским разведчиком в Берлине, не менее интересно, чем его полотна. Благодаря

профессии, Глущенко не стал заложником официального советского искусства — власть закрывала глаза на то, что его картины были нетипичными для той эпохи. Глущенко всю жизнь искал свой «особый национальный стиль», и в произведениях разных периодов можно увидеть причудливые трансформации цвета, форм и композиции. «Начало весны», несмотря на маленькие размеры, является самой ценной среди многих работ мастера в PremierPalaceHotel.


Матвей Коган-Шац, «Во время заката", 1952

Та, которую легко не заметить

Эта картина размещается в узком коридорном переходе PremierPalaceHotel, поэтому ее очень легко не заметить на пути к бассейну или к сигарной комнате. И зря. Ведь именно на этой картине есть все, за что художника любили критики и не любила советская номенклатура. «Закат» — классический для Когана-Шаца уравновешенный пейзаж с изящным, но ярким колоритом и выразительной композицией, при этом далекий от индустриальной и бытовой проблематики его времени.


Данил Безуглый, «Волго-Дон шлюз», 1953

Самая необычная

На первый взгляд, большинство произведений Данила Безуглого кажутся неактуальными сегодня — тема индустриализации и «великих строек» встречается в любом перечне его основных работ. Но его умение совместить бытовые темы с изобразительными методами европейских ориенталистов заслуживает внимания. На этой картине, расположенной в ресторане Terracotta, речной шлюз Волго-Дона изображен в почти античном настроении. Здесь чувствуется вдохновение, которое получил художник во время своих путешествий.


«Мальвы», неизвестный художник

Неизвестная до сих пор

В стенах отеля экспонируется около 300 предметов живописи, большинство принадлежит кисти выдающихся украинских художников: от Николая Глущенко до Виктора Дображнського. Но судьба (и авторство) нескольких работ все еще остается неизвестной. Одна из таких — «Мальвы», расположенная в коридоре старой части здания на 7 этаже. На фоне других представителей академической живописи это произведение примечательно принципами наивизма с его интенсивными цветами, но в классической форме.


Иван Кисель «Виноградники на Украине»

Документ эпохи

Что будет, если объединить живопись соцреализма с импрессионистскими методами? Ответ - «Виноградники» Ивана Киселя. С одной стороны, типичные украинские труженицы в фартуках и платках. С другой — интенсивный цвет винограда, который занимает большую часть композиции. В этом — неизменный оптимизм станковой советской живописи, хотя для современного ценителя произведения Ивана Киселя и могут показаться слишком бесконфликтными.